I bought a Kindle!! (Part one)

How will this affect my reading habits?  Will I read more? Less? Will I go back to reading more than one book at a time

I wanted a Kindle so I can have it with me at all times as it’s quite small and light.  It’s great for going on holiday as I would usually take two  or three books with me.  When I’m on holiday I spend so much time walking around, taking in the sights, observing the different culture around me that I don’t spend a lot of time reading.  I’m not a ‘beachy’  type, and I don’t go to resorts so I don’t spend my holiday reading by the the pool.  Most of my holiday reading is done at the airport and on the plane, with perhaps a chapter of pre-bed reading in the hotel room.  Even so, I do need at least two books.  With all that waiting in the airport, the flight itself, and sometimes changing flights in the middle, I could finish one book before I even enter my holiday destination.  My second book might not be to my taste after all, so I need a back-up holiday read.   Of course, I can buy a book when I’m on holiday, and donate the book I took with me, to the nearest library.

But then there’s the travel guide.  You can get those on the kindle too!  Very handy.

Another great thing about the Kindle (great for me, the reader; not so good for publishers and book sellers – two sides to every coin :-( ) is that a lot of classics are free, or very cheap.  I used to read classics a lot, and even though there are so many good modern books out there; it’s good to go back to the likes of Brontë and Dickens once in a while.

You can also download samples to your Kindle for free.  This is just like reading a few pages of a book in a bookshop before deciding if you want to buy it.  Amazon will send you the first part to read, then if you like it you can pay for the rest.

With so many titles by my side at any one time, it might be hard for me to stick with just one at a time.  But if I do flick between two or more, at least that’s my choice and not because I’ve accidentally left my book behind so I have to start another one!

I am enjoying the novelty of reading on an e-reader at the moment, but I’m not going to stop reading print books.  For a start, I work in a library where interesting books are constantly grabbing my attention when I’m just doing my job. I’m not going to stop borrowing these just because I can read them on the Kindle now.

First impression – Love it!  But I intend to do another write up once I’ve had more time with it, in order to weigh up the pros and cons. ;-)

What do you think about Kindles or e-readers in general?  Tell me…

22 thoughts on “I bought a Kindle!! (Part one)

  1. I’ve got a Kindle, but I still have lots and lots of real books :) It’s the break between semesters for me so I’m reading Great Expectations on my Kindle (and feel terribly wicked about downloading the great Dickens for free), What Would Audrey Do? (actual factual paperback), and Through A Glass Darkly (also in paperback)…..if anything I’m actually reading more now I have a Kindle! Everytime I scroll through the thousands of books available I realise just how many more there are to read!

  2. I honestly thought I would never go to an eReader. I grew up loving the feel and smell of books, but the attraction is undeniable. The pages are still beautiful and you can control the size of the type, all your books in one place and every single one of them bookmarked where you left off.

    The only sensation lacking besides the tactile response of paper at your fingertips is that feeling of walking into a library seeing those shelves and shelves of books and realizing how much there is left to read.

    • I love seeing shelves of books too. I hope that doesn’t disappear in a few decades because e-readers have taken over the world. As much as we love the practicality of them, we still want real books! Can we have both? Time will tell.

  3. I’m not a fan of e-readers. I have read a few books on my iPad, and it is convenient for travel, but I have decided that I prefer a book I can hold, turn its pages, and actually feel.

  4. I love books, and continue to prefer them overall, but I am now reading my third book using the Kindle app for the iPad. It’s especially great for being up with my baby in the middle of the night. The screen isn’t as obvious as my laptop, which distracts her, and I get quality reading done without turning on any lights. I’ll definitely bring the iPad when traveling with the family, especially when we’re sharing a room and I want to read before bed.

    • Yes I definitely think e-readers are good for travelling. I am keeping a note of pros and cons for part two of this post, and while the pros far outweigh the cons in number, the biggest con is simply that it doesn’t have that book feel and smell which we all love ;-)

  5. I also read two at once one paper book at home (I am trying to reduce my to be read pile) but also I have at least one kindle book on the go. It has proved to be a great way to try out new self published authors who under other circumstances I may never have come across

    • That’s a good point. I haven’t even thought about using the Kindle to find self published authors, although I know a lot of people are publishing for e-readers at the moment. I’ll keep a look out. Thanks for the tip ;-)

    • I like your reference to the Luddites! I’m always a bit late in latching on to new technology but I get there eventually! Technology is changing and we have to change with it, but we don’t all have to move at the same speed ;-)

  6. I love my Kindle. I was always a reader, but with my Kindle I am reading more than ever. I now prefer the Kindle to a paper book for a multitude of reasons. :)

Leave a Reply

