Finding Time to Read

Like lots of people, I’ve always got a book on the go. But my problem is that I always seem to read several books at the same time. This is very disruptive to each story and it can get confusing. The most confusing time was when I was reading Dracula on my lunch breaks in work and The Historian at home (also about Dracula). Reading a book just on lunch breaks during the week means it takes a long time to finish. If it starts getting un-put-down-able I will take it home; which then puts my ‘at home’ book on hold.

Why don’t I just read one book and take it the work with me? I think the reason goes back to the days when I didn’t have a car. I enjoy walking so rather than take a bus I walked to work, so the less I had to carry, the better. That’s why my locker in work was stocked up with food and books to save me carrying them every day. Good plan – then. Now I drive to work but my reading habits remain the same (thankfully my eating habits have improved!). In fact my reading habit has become worse. I now have a ‘car book’: A book that lives in the car for when the person I’m picking up from work (boyfriend) isn’t ready and I’m waiting in the car. I sometimes have two books for home; a heavy reading for downstairs when I’m alert and my brain is working, and a lighter one for reading in bed. I can add yet more to this. If I’m going on a long coach journey by myself I take an audio book (for planes and trains I prefer to read a print copy). That’s potentially four books at any one time. It’s no wonder it takes me an age to finish reading any one book.

This has to stop, hasn’t it?

So today I took my bedtime book to work (sorry H.G. Wells, you’ll have to wait). And I will also read this books if I’m reading downstairs (sorry too, Emotional Intelligence, you will have to wait for a weekend when I can give you more attention). James Thurber I will keep in my car for now. There will for certain be times where I will be stuck in my car waiting for boyfriend to call it a day and let me drive him home. I’ll probably have my reading book with me – that’s the plan. But if for some reason I don’t, Thurber’s hilarious short stories are short enough to keep me occupied until my car can start moving.

The first time I tried to become the type of person that carries the same book with me, it didn’t work out too well. I started with Slaughter-house 5 because it was small enough to carry in my bag. For that fact alone Slaughter-house 5 became my ‘bag book’ – a book only to be read when I find myself without my regular book, as this book will always be with me (as long as I have my bag!).  But this time it will work.  What can possibly go wrong?  Watch this space…

15 thoughts on “Finding Time to Read

  1. Thank you for the follow!

    I am the exact same way. I have…four books going right now. Three non-fiction and one fiction. The fiction is audio and for worktime. Then, my lunch time reading (which is print) and then two at home, which I flip between. I know I should focus more, but it’s *so hard*!

    • I’m glad I’m not alone! I am sticking to my one book but my fingers are twitching! I found a book in the library today I wanted to read but instead of taking it home, I wrote down the title so I can go back to it later 😀

      • Oh no, you’re not!

        That’s awesome… I try to do the same thing. But, then I start to think about the book, and wonder “Well, what if I should just read it now, when I [think] that I have the time to do it, and it won’t just get lost on the list of things I want to read?”

        Sometimes, it’s a huge negotiation. I’m sure fellow library users/patrons at the bookstore think I’m insane 🙂

  2. Stephanie, if you think visiting a library makes it difficult to resist temptation, try working in one! Most of the books I read now come from the library I work in, while my own books are sitting patiently on the shelf :-p

  3. I love a book as an entity as much as love a good read – there’s something so enticing about the look and feel of a book – but Hannah, you need a Kindle! Though how you’d manage with 100s of titles at your fingertips I don’t know…

    • Yes yes yes! I agree totally. I too love the ‘real’ books, but a kindle would be good for me. So small and light and too expensive to just leave in work! Good thinking 🙂

  4. I’m the same way but I am more of an ADD reader. I have a bookshelves full of books I started and needs to be finished. Some that are perfect reads for whatever I’m going through at the moment. I started to complete books most recently keeping a book at my treadmill. I feel like it’s watching TV and you come back for more later. So whatever works but know how your feeling. It’s quite an accomplishment to actually finish a book. Thank you for your recent follow. I’ll be following along too.

  5. Great post. I try not to have to many books on the go.I get through them much quicker when I’m just reading one but I do occasionally end up having two books on the go which doesn’t work for me.

Leave a Reply

